07 Prius Radio Volume Knob Sometime Not Working

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2011, 06:04 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: 07 Prius Radio Volume **** Sometime Not Working

(I did software testing for a living for many years.)
Originally Posted by seeocean2000
I tend to believe that "unintended" **** malfunction could also be caused by the same causes, whatever that might be. Being somewhat proficient in software development, I know how hard it is to develop bug-free software.
I doubt it's software. See http://priuschat.com/forums/gen-ii-p...s-working.html and more specifically http://priuschat.com/forums/gen-ii-p...ml#post1123249.

It's intermittent and I've personally hit this a few times. After the above hint, I've "fixed" it by pushing on the left side of the stereo's faceplate.

Old 01-11-2011, 12:09 AM
Enthusiast

Originally Posted by JHSmith
Sorry, but something doesn't seem right.

You have an '07 Prius and the dealer wants you to pay a diagnostic fee?

Unless something is VERY strange (or you modified your car in the area of the radio), a 2007 should still be in warranty. Therefore, there should not be any fee at all.

BTW, may not be a software bug. It may be an intermittent problem with the encoder portion of the switch that controls the volume. Good luck with this problem because capturing an intermittent symptom like this is a real bear.
Thanks guys for your advice. I'll consider these options and let you know if one of them works.

Old 09-04-2011, 08:34 PM
Enthusiast

Wife 06 Prius had this same issue 2 months ago. Carmax warranty took out radio and sent back to Toyota factory for repair. Radio returned with simply stating it has been repaired and Carmax installed it. Worked for about 1 week before it did it again 2 x in 2 days. Appears to be related to hot days.

I put my OBD scanner on the car, no error codes so does not appear to be detected by master computer.

Old 09-05-2011, 05:18 AM
Pragmatist