Introductions Electric Vehicle Forums welcomes you to the community. Please, tell us about yourself!

Introduction

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2004, 08:20 PM
Enthusiast

Hello there all,

I didn't think to introduce myself (and have already posted a few messages here) but then I discovered that I got a message from Jason asking me to introduce myself so I thought I would oblige.

My girlfriend and I bought a 2004 Prius (Tideland) back in November 2003 and have since put 7500 miles on it in various conditions. We live outside of our illustrious capital of Washington DC in Virginia.

Currently I'm a graduate student in Electrical Engineering looking at alternative ways of supplying us with energy. I'm also working on some projects of my own at SustainabilityResearch.com . I am very interested in developing ways and technologies that allow people to live sustainably. That was the primary reason I was interested in the Prius.

I have to say I have mixed feeling about the car. I loved my previous car ( a Volkswagen Jetta) and really enjoy driving in general. I have found the driving smoothness of the Prius to be lacking (stemming I hope from a mechanical/control problem of some sort). With about half of my tanks in the 30's mpg range with a low of 32 mpg (well after break-in) the fuel economy (while ok) has not been exciting.

That being said, I am warming up to the car and it does have some incredibly exciting features. It is quite cool on those rare occasions when the engine shuts off and the car runs quietly. I have decided to get involved with GreenHybrid to see what other's experiences are and see if I can improve my experience with my car.

Anyway, that's a little about me. I look forward to interacting with you all.

Christian

Old 04-12-2004, 08:36 PM
Site Founder

Christian,