HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Help understanding the great mileage debate

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2007, 09:29 PM
Enthusiast
Default Help understanding the great mileage debate

I know their are many discussions of the real world mileage controversy posted on these threads, but can someone simplfy it all for me, a prospective civic 07 hybrid buyer?
My main reason to buy is I want a high mileage safe vehicle. I know the safety is excellent ratings wise. As for mileage, i read so many opinions in different places from this forum to consumer reports to edmunds..
i will be a city driver 80%...
I am a conservative driver, and things are very stop and go here...mostly flat with some mild hills
What should I realistically expect to average?
Why are the reports so divergent?

Old 02-01-2007, 05:20 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Help understanding the great mileage debate

The reports are divergent because there are many factors that play a role in the mileage you get. Some of them are:

Weather (cold is bad - actually the car's engine being cold is bad for mileage)
length of trip (short is bad - if the engine isn't warmed up)
hills (going UP hills is really bad)
Acceleration from a stop (fast is bad)